ISNR Awards and Past Recipients

The Conference Committee is pleased to request abstracts for research presentations by undergraduate and graduate students. This project can be a dissertation or thesis project and must consist of original work completed by an undergraduate or graduate student. Important note: Your supervisor must send in a letter via email to stating that they have supervised and reviewed your work on this submission.

ISNR’s Student Advocacy Committee (SACom) has developed and the ISNR Board has approved enhanced student awards to recognize student excellence in academic and research work. These awards are designed to promote student involvement in the field of neurofeedback by supporting student travel to the ISNR annual meeting. This conference is a venue for students to present their work in an open and supportive atmosphere. The organization encourages all students at both graduate and undergraduate levels to apply for awards to these grants.

Past Recipients

2014: Joint Grant Award- Student Fund and Research Foundation: Elizabeth Friedrich, Sarah Wyckoff

ISNR Student Advocacy Award
2019 Recipients: Daniel Alicea, Rachel Bridges, Bonnie Cardell, Jessica Xu

About the Award: (up to 5 awardees per year) The ISNR Student Advocacy Award consists of a $200 travel grant to help cover costs of attending the annual conference. This prize has the goal of increasing student interest and knowledge in the field of neurofeedback. The award is for students in any field that may contribute to the application or general knowledge of neurofeedback.

  • Who is eligible?
  • Individuals who are currently enrolled as full time students (as defined by the ISNR student policies above)—both graduate and undergraduate, international and domestic—may apply.
  • Maintaining a current ISNR student affiliate membership is not required to submit an essay or to attend the annual conference at the student registration rate.
  • Attendance at the ISNR annual conference however, is required in order to receive the award.
  • Volunteering for a minimum of 4 hours is required at the annual conference. Discretion and time of the volunteer coordinator is required.
    • How to apply?
    • The topic of the essay is:
    • “How might applied theories and methods in neurofeedback influence your research or career goals, and how might participation in the INSR help you to achieve these goals?”
    • Whether you are experienced in applied methodologies or not, we encourage you to explore in this essay how applied methods and your participation in ISNR could inspire (or has already inspired or transformed) your research or career as a clinician or scientist. All materials must be received on or before the end of call for papers. Once received, applications will be checked for completeness and organized by the Student Committee Awards Officer. The winner(s) will be announced in a timely manner.

ISNR Student Paper Award
2017 Recipients: Bettina Viereck

About the Award: (up to 2 recipients per year) This award includes $350, reimbursement of two nights stay at the annual conference hotel basic single occupancy room, not to exceed ISNR’s Group room rate per night), general conference registration, 1 year membership and access to the ISNR journal, NeuroRegulation, and credit towards attending 6 hours of 2016 ISNRU annual conference workshops and or ISNRU webinars are available to 2 students who meet the eligibility qualifications.

Past Recipients

2013: Ryan Kiser, Jeff LaMarca, Hannah Logdson, Brendan Parsons, Sarah Wyckoff
2012—Vernon Clark, Zachary Clemens, Sivan Kinreich, Kerstin Mayer, Guela Sokhadze, Sarah Wyckoff
2011—Dominic DiLoreto, Sivan Kinreich, Wing Sze Wence Leung, Ann Marie Scruggs, Guela Sokhadze
2010—Joshua Baruth, Marie Gonzales, Mirjam Kouijzer, Sarah Wyckoff
2009—Blair Aronovitch, Joshua Baruth, Mark Lawrence Johnson, Jana Koprivova, Jessica Paskwietz, Andrea Reid, Tomas Ros
2008—Rex Cannon, Stephen Rondeau, Tomas Ros

Student Travel Award
2019 Recipients: Jessica Gregory, Rachel Bridges, Christopher Anzalone, and John LeMay

About the Award: (up to 4 recipients per year) This Fund supports a travel grant of $300 for up to 4 students offset the costs to attend the annual conference of the Society plus 6 hours of credit to attend 2016 ISNRU Annual Conference workshops and/or ISNRU Webinars. The ISNR Travel award works to increase student membership in the ISNR as well as to encourage and facilitate student participation in the annual conference.