ISNR Awards and Past Recipients

The Joel F. Lubar Award
2021 Recipient: Michael Thompson, MD

About the Award: The Joel F Lubar Award is presented to those who have made contributions to the International Society for Neurofeedback and Research and the advancement of neurotherapy.

Previous Recipients:

2020 – Angelika & Mitch Sadar
2019 – Hank Weeks
2018 – Mark Trullinger
2017 – David Cantor
2016 – Richard Soutar
2015 – Sarah Prinsloo
2014 – Len Ochs
2013 – Sebern Fisher
2012 – David Trudeau
2011 – Judy Crawford
2010 – Martijn Arns
2009 – Kirtley Thornton and Estate Sokhadze
2008 – Robert Coben and Vince Monastra
2007 – Susan Shor-Fehmi and Eugenia Bodenhammer-Davis

And in previous years: Roger deBeus, Hank Weeks, Tim Tinius, Jay Gunkelman, Brian Thiel, Don Deering, John Nash, Dale Walters, Jonathan Walker, Noland White, Cory Hammond and Mario Beauregard.

The Presendential Award of Merit
2021 Recipient: Tanya Morosoli

About the Award: The Presidential Award of Merit is awarded to those members who have shown a very high level of commitment to, and work on behalf, of ISNR.

Previous Recipients:

2020 – Lexi Meinhold
2019 – Lauren Sharples
2018 – Rob Longo
2017 – Terri Collura
2016 – Nancy Wigton
2015- None awarded
2014- Sarah Wyckoff
2013 – Eugenia Bodenhamer-Davis
2012 – Leslie Sherlin
2011 – Martijn Arns
2010 – Larry Hirshberg
2009 – Leslie Sherlin
2008 – Hank Weeks
2007 – Merlyn Hurd

And in previous years: Roger deBeus, Joe Horvat*, Ann Marie Horvat, Elsa Baehr, Darlene Nelson, Adam Clarke and Noland White

The M.B. Sterman Career Achievement Award
2021 Recipient: Yuri Kropotov

About the Award: The M.B. Sterman Career Achievement Award (formally The Lifetime Achievement Award) is awarded to those persons who have “thought outside the box, remaining curious about life’s larger questions, while retaining scientific rigor. Through the alchemy of hard work throughout your career, you have generated our current field’s golden foundation. We stand on the shoulders of giants, and today we honor you, one of the giants. On behalf of the Board of Directors and the membership of ISNR, I hereby declare you a Lifetime Member of ISNR.”

Previous Recipients:

2020 – Mary Lee Esty
2019 – Jay Gunkelman
2018 – Nancy White
2017 – Sebern Fisher
2016 – Elsa Baehr, Judy Crawford
2015 – Jon Walker
2014 – Tom Collura
2013 – Dirk de Ridder
2012 – D. Corydon Hammond
2011 – Adam Clarke
2010 – Niels Birbaumer
2009 – Robert Thatcher
2008 – Roberto Pasqual-Marqui
2007 – Les Fehmi

And in previous years: David Trudeau, Tom Budzynski*, Joel Lubar, Judith Lubar, Barry Sterman, Margaret Ayers*, Joe Kamiya, Hershel Toomim*, Karl Pribram and Eugenia Bodenhamer-Davis.

ISNR Fellows
2021 Recipients: Estate Sokhadze and Lexi Meinhold

About the Award: ISNR Fellows have (a) met all the requirements for membership, (b) been a member for at least three (3) years, (c) presented to the Board evidence of significant contributions to the Society and its function, and/or exceptional achievement in experimental or clinical neurotherapy, evidence of contributions to the field of neurotherapy, and/or evidence of contributions acceptable to the Board or Fellowship Committee, and (d) been so designated by the Board.

Previous Recipients:

2020- Sebern Fisher
2019 – Adrian Van Deusen, Sarah Wyckoff, and Roger deBeus
2018 – Nancy Wigton and Joy Lunt
2017 – David Hagedorn
2016 – Paul Swingle
2015 – Rex Cannon
2014 – Randall Lyle
2013 – Richard E. Davis
2012 – Leslie Sherlin
2011 – Tom Collura and Judith Lubar
2010 – Ben Reitsma
2009 – Thomas Brownback, Sarah Prinsloo and Lawrence Hirshberg
2008 – Michael Cohen, Martijn Arns and Wolfgang Keeser
2007 – Robert Coben and Marco Congedo
2005 – David Kaiser, Tamara Lorensen, Michael Thompson and Lynda Thompson
2004 – Roger deBeus
2003 – Elsa Baehr

And in previous years:
Margaret Ayers, Tom Budzynski, Dan Chartier, Jim Evans, Jay Gunkelman, Bob Gurnee, Cory Hammond, Daniel Hoffman, Joe Horvat, Joe Kamiya, Lynda Kirk, Ted La Vaque, Joel Lubar, Judith Lubar, John Nash, Ellen Saxby, Barry Sterman, Steve Stockdale, David Trudeau, Jonathan Walker, Nancy White

The Joseph and Ann Marie Horvat Distinguished Service Award
2021 Recipient: Tanya Morosoli

About the Award: The Joseph and Ann Marie Horvat Distinguished Service Award is established to recognize members who have served the Society faithfully and with exemplary effort. Nova Tech EEG, Inc with approval of the ISNR Board endowed an award, to be presented annually, to a person who has made an outstanding service contribution to achieving the mission of the International Society for Neurofeedback and Research (ISNR) through volunteerism. Across the years many individuals who have represented the organization have instilled in many members and conference attendees a great loyalty to our field and to the organization. Although there were many, two of the most noticeable individuals were Joe and Ann Marie Horvat. With the passing of Joe, who was a friend and colleague, we wanted to honor his memory and the significant amount of time he dedicated to the organization through various board and committee positions. In similar fashion, Ann Marie volunteered a great deal of time for many years with no compensation to support ISNR.  We wish to recognize these individuals’ contributions over the years by naming the Distinguished Service Award in their name. Additionally, by recognizing volunteerism and dedication to ISNR we hope to increase the participation by the general membership. This award recognizes service in the areas of board affairs, society membership, committee work, publications or conference presentations, general volunteerism to the society and leadership that has a major impact on the ISNR society and in support of its mission. Recipients receive an engraved plaque.

Previous Recipients:

2020 – Tanya Morosoli
2019 – Noel Ford
2018 – Estate (Tato) Sokhadze
2017 – Marie Grachus
2016 – Sarah Wyckoff
2015 – Lexi Meinhold
2014 – Dan Williams
2013 – Merlyn Hurd
2012 – Peder Fagerholm
2011 – Hank Weeks
2010 – John Carmichael (Research Foundation)
2009 – Noland White (Student Fund)
2008 – Ann Marie Horvat (Joe Horvat Memorial Research Fund)